diet, Health

VLCD 12

Today, I was not only excited about weighing in, but also about taking my measurements. I decided to visit the scale first. I crossed my fingers and stepped on. It showed a loss of exactly 1 lb. I was thrilled! While I’ve been losing steadily each day, today is only the third day I’ve lost at least a pound. What was different yesterday? For lunch I ate grilled tilapia, a lettuce salad, and a sliced apple sprinkled with cinnamon. At dinner, I had no appetite for a vegetable. I ate my grilled shrimp and Melba toast and a half grapefruit sprinkled with stevia. Could skipping my vegetable have anything to do with it? One hcg forum suggested skipping vegetables to increase weight loss. There are days I force myself to eat a second vegetable. From now on, if I don’t want it, I won’t eat it. However, I am not going to starve myself. If I’m hungry, I’m going to eat my vegetables. I believe that despite the advice given on hcg websites and forums, at some point, common sense must prevail. I am not going to make myself sick in my effort to lose weight. 

Now it was time to take my measurements. I took them for the first time last Saturday and posted them. I promised to take and post them every Saturday moving forward while on this diet. So….today’s my day. Here are my current measurements with inches lost in parentheses:

Neck 13 1/2″ (-1/4″)

Chest 37 1/2″ (-1/2″)

Left upper arm 14 1/4″ (-1/2″)

Right upper arm 14 3/4″ (-1/4″)

Waist 35 1/2″ (-1/2″)

Hips 45 1/2″ (-3/4″)

Left upper thigh 29 1/4″ (-1/4″)

Right upper thigh 29 3/4″ (-3/4″)

Left lower thigh 23 3/4″ (-3/4″)

Right lower thigh 24 1/4″ (-3/4″)

Left knee 16 1/4″ (-2.0″)

Right knee 16 3/4″ (-2 3/4)

Left calf 17″ (-0)

Right calf 17″ (-1/2″)

That’s a total loss of 10 1/2″!!! AMAZING!!! I’m stunned to see how much I lost in my lower body – and that’s where I truly need to lose. And who knew one could lose so much in the knees? That was totally unexpected! I don’t expect to lose much in my calves. I inherited small calves (and skinny ankles) from my dad’s side of the family. I see now why measuring is so important. That is a major loss I would have otherwise been unable to celebrate. Between today’s measurements and my 1 lb loss, I am so encouraged. This diet is clearly working. 

Later today, I’m going to my mother and father-in-law’s 50th anniversary celebration. I am going to do my best to be reasonable in my eating and not interfere with the progress I’m making. It’s not in a restaurant, but in my sister-in-law’s home. However, the event is being catered. Chicken is safe (as long as it isn’t fried) and I’m sure there will be salad. I’ll take a sliced apple for my dessert while others are eating cake. 

I’ll certainly tell you all about it tomorrow. Wish me luck!

Grace and peace,

Raquel 

Standard

Leave a Reply

